Grief has many faces. Sometimes a grieving person stuffs their grief, but it comes out anyway in depression.

The five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. No one goes through the stages exactly the same way. Some start with anger, others with depression. But we all experience each stage until we reach the final one – acceptance.

Jesus grieved just like we do. John the Baptist was his second cousin because Elizabeth was Mary’s cousin, see Luke 1:36. When Jesus heard John was dead, he looked for a deserted place to grieve.

Matthew 14:13, “When Jesus heard this, He departed from there by boat for a deserted place. . .” Modern English Version

Jesus promised to be there when we grieve. He promised to not leave us fatherless or comfortless, see John 14:18. The best thing we can do is find a deserted place. Jesus will meet us there.

Dear Father God,

Thank You for holding us extra close while we grieve. Life goes on and we still have responsibilities, but we are only able to keep going through Your strength. Thank You for Your comfort.

In Jesus Name,


©2009-2017 All rights reserved.

 Twitter – @frugalfishorg

Facebook – Frugal Fish